Budget
  • FILE PHOTO: A combine drives over stalks of soft red winter wheat during the harvest on a farm in Dixon, Illinois

    Is Trump's $28 Billion Bailout Paying Farmers Too Much?

    By Michael Rainey

    The Trump administration is spending $28 billion to bail out farmers hurt by the president’s trade war with China – a huge sum that some experts say overestimates the economic losses inflicted by the...

  • New Trump Food Stamp Rule Will Cut 700,000 from Program

    By Michael Rainey

    The White House said Wednesday that it has finalized a rule that will tighten work requirements for participants in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP. The new rule could result...

  • The Ohio-class ballistic missile submarine USS Tennessee returns to Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay, Georgia in this handout photo

    Navy Awards Largest Shipbuilding Contract Ever

    By Michael Rainey

    The U.S. Navy awarded a contract Monday worth more than $22 billion to build nine new attack submarines. The agreement with General Dynamics Electric Boat includes an option for a 10 th sub, which...

  • Dome of the U.S. Capitol Building

    On Congress’s To-Do List: Prevent a Shutdown in 18 Days

    Congressional appropriators back from their Thanksgiving recess have just three weeks to hammer out details on dozens of policy differences over federal funding for fiscal year 2020, which started on...

  • A homeless woman sits on a bench few blocks away from the White House in downtown Washington

    Chart of the Day: Record Low Poverty Rate

    By Michael Rainey

    The extensive array of government assistance programs — including Social Security, unemployment insurance, veterans’ benefits, nutritional aid, rental assistance and the Earned Income Tax Credit —...

  • Sanders, Buttigieg Release Plans for Veterans Affairs

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    Bernie Sanders unveiled on Monday a proposal to expand services provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs. Among numerous policy details in the proposal, Sanders said he would: Fill 50,000...

  • Congress Wants to Push Shutdown Deadline into December

    The House will vote the week of November 18 on a short-term spending bill intended to avert a government shutdown later that week, House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-MD) said in a letter to...

  • Democratic presidential candidate Pete Buttigieg, Mayor of South Bend Ind., speaks to a crowd during a campaign event, Saturday,

    Buttigieg’s $1 Trillion Plan for Free Tuition, Child Care and Housing

    By Michael Rainey

    Democratic presidential contender Pete Buttigieg released on Friday more than $1 trillion worth of proposals that focus on education, housing and child care. The plans include: $700 billion for pre-K...

  • Sen. Van Hollen announces a bipartisan agreement on Turkey sanctions during a news conference in Washington

    Democrats Propose New Tax on Millionaires

    By Michael Rainey

    Two Democratic lawmakers unveiled a plan Thursday that would raise taxes on high-income households. Sen. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland and Rep. Don Beyer of Virginia are proposing a 10-percentage...

  • Chairman of the Senate Budget Committee Enzi waits for order to be restored during markup of the FY2018 Budget reconciliation legislation on Capitol Hill in Washington

    Senate Committee Approves Budget Reforms

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The Senate Budget Committee on Wednesday approved a bipartisan bill that aims to reform the federal government’s budget process. The Bipartisan Congressional Budget Reform Act “would provide a more...

Budget Directory

Tags
Thursday, June 6, 2013 - 4:23pm
Monday, June 3, 2013 - 4:10am
Wednesday, May 29, 2013 - 4:04am
Tuesday, May 21, 2013 - 4:00am
Wednesday, May 1, 2013 - 4:26am
Tuesday, April 30, 2013 - 4:02am
Friday, April 12, 2013 - 4:17am
Thursday, April 11, 2013 - 4:04am
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 - 4:06am
Wednesday, April 3, 2013 - 8:35pm
Wednesday, April 3, 2013 - 7:59pm
Tuesday, March 26, 2013 - 4:10am
Friday, March 22, 2013 - 4:03am
Friday, March 22, 2013 - 1:43am
Wednesday, March 20, 2013 - 4:01am
Tuesday, March 19, 2013 - 4:02am
Thursday, March 14, 2013 - 5:36pm
Thursday, March 14, 2013 - 4:07am
Wednesday, March 13, 2013 - 4:10am
Thursday, March 7, 2013 - 5:13am
Monday, March 4, 2013 - 5:18am
Friday, March 1, 2013 - 9:46pm
Thursday, February 28, 2013 - 5:59am
Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 6:51pm
Tuesday, February 26, 2013 - 7:10pm
Monday, February 25, 2013 - 5:02am
Sunday, February 24, 2013 - 5:16am
Friday, February 22, 2013 - 9:24pm
Friday, February 15, 2013 - 4:20pm
Wednesday, February 13, 2013 - 5:03am
Tuesday, February 12, 2013 - 7:15pm
Monday, February 11, 2013 - 3:47pm
Monday, February 11, 2013 - 5:02am
Thursday, February 7, 2013 - 5:07am
Tuesday, February 5, 2013 - 5:22pm
Sunday, February 3, 2013 - 5:30am
Thursday, January 31, 2013 - 11:41pm
Wednesday, January 30, 2013 - 5:03am
Thursday, January 17, 2013 - 3:36pm
Thursday, December 27, 2012 - 5:08am
Wednesday, December 5, 2012 - 4:24am
Sunday, November 18, 2012 - 5:40pm

Pages