Budget
  • FILE PHOTO: A combine drives over stalks of soft red winter wheat during the harvest on a farm in Dixon, Illinois

    Is Trump's $28 Billion Bailout Paying Farmers Too Much?

    By Michael Rainey

    The Trump administration is spending $28 billion to bail out farmers hurt by the president’s trade war with China – a huge sum that some experts say overestimates the economic losses inflicted by the...

  • New Trump Food Stamp Rule Will Cut 700,000 from Program

    By Michael Rainey

    The White House said Wednesday that it has finalized a rule that will tighten work requirements for participants in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP. The new rule could result...

  • The Ohio-class ballistic missile submarine USS Tennessee returns to Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay, Georgia in this handout photo

    Navy Awards Largest Shipbuilding Contract Ever

    By Michael Rainey

    The U.S. Navy awarded a contract Monday worth more than $22 billion to build nine new attack submarines. The agreement with General Dynamics Electric Boat includes an option for a 10 th sub, which...

  • Dome of the U.S. Capitol Building

    On Congress’s To-Do List: Prevent a Shutdown in 18 Days

    Congressional appropriators back from their Thanksgiving recess have just three weeks to hammer out details on dozens of policy differences over federal funding for fiscal year 2020, which started on...

  • A homeless woman sits on a bench few blocks away from the White House in downtown Washington

    Chart of the Day: Record Low Poverty Rate

    By Michael Rainey

    The extensive array of government assistance programs — including Social Security, unemployment insurance, veterans’ benefits, nutritional aid, rental assistance and the Earned Income Tax Credit —...

  • Sanders, Buttigieg Release Plans for Veterans Affairs

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    Bernie Sanders unveiled on Monday a proposal to expand services provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs. Among numerous policy details in the proposal, Sanders said he would: Fill 50,000...

  • Congress Wants to Push Shutdown Deadline into December

    The House will vote the week of November 18 on a short-term spending bill intended to avert a government shutdown later that week, House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-MD) said in a letter to...

  • Democratic presidential candidate Pete Buttigieg, Mayor of South Bend Ind., speaks to a crowd during a campaign event, Saturday,

    Buttigieg’s $1 Trillion Plan for Free Tuition, Child Care and Housing

    By Michael Rainey

    Democratic presidential contender Pete Buttigieg released on Friday more than $1 trillion worth of proposals that focus on education, housing and child care. The plans include: $700 billion for pre-K...

  • Sen. Van Hollen announces a bipartisan agreement on Turkey sanctions during a news conference in Washington

    Democrats Propose New Tax on Millionaires

    By Michael Rainey

    Two Democratic lawmakers unveiled a plan Thursday that would raise taxes on high-income households. Sen. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland and Rep. Don Beyer of Virginia are proposing a 10-percentage...

  • Chairman of the Senate Budget Committee Enzi waits for order to be restored during markup of the FY2018 Budget reconciliation legislation on Capitol Hill in Washington

    Senate Committee Approves Budget Reforms

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The Senate Budget Committee on Wednesday approved a bipartisan bill that aims to reform the federal government’s budget process. The Bipartisan Congressional Budget Reform Act “would provide a more...

Budget Directory

Tags
Tuesday, December 11, 2012 - 5:08am
Monday, December 10, 2012 - 3:37pm
Friday, December 7, 2012 - 6:02pm
Tuesday, December 4, 2012 - 9:58pm
Monday, December 3, 2012 - 10:07pm
Friday, November 30, 2012 - 5:08am
Friday, November 30, 2012 - 5:05am
Thursday, November 29, 2012 - 5:11am
Tuesday, November 27, 2012 - 8:03pm
Monday, November 26, 2012 - 5:20am
Sunday, November 25, 2012 - 5:07am
Friday, November 16, 2012 - 5:09am
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 1:39pm
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 5:18am
Friday, November 2, 2012 - 4:26am
Friday, November 2, 2012 - 4:21am
Monday, October 29, 2012 - 4:30am
Sunday, October 28, 2012 - 5:54am
Wednesday, October 24, 2012 - 1:08am
Monday, October 22, 2012 - 5:48pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 4:14am
Friday, October 12, 2012 - 4:01am
Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 4:08am
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 10:25pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 4:01am
Friday, October 5, 2012 - 4:09am
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 4:05am
Thursday, September 27, 2012 - 2:00pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 7:08pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 4:30am
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 4:02am
Sunday, September 23, 2012 - 4:25am
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 4:22am
Wednesday, September 5, 2012 - 5:15am
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 - 4:05am
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 - 12:11am
Tuesday, August 28, 2012 - 4:02am
Thursday, August 23, 2012 - 4:04am
Thursday, August 23, 2012 - 4:01am
Wednesday, August 22, 2012 - 5:24pm
Thursday, July 19, 2012 - 4:30am
Friday, July 13, 2012 - 4:07am
Thursday, June 14, 2012 - 4:38am
Wednesday, June 6, 2012 - 5:02am

Pages