Budget
  • FILE PHOTO: A combine drives over stalks of soft red winter wheat during the harvest on a farm in Dixon, Illinois

    Is Trump's $28 Billion Bailout Paying Farmers Too Much?

    By Michael Rainey

    The Trump administration is spending $28 billion to bail out farmers hurt by the president’s trade war with China – a huge sum that some experts say overestimates the economic losses inflicted by the...

  • New Trump Food Stamp Rule Will Cut 700,000 from Program

    By Michael Rainey

    The White House said Wednesday that it has finalized a rule that will tighten work requirements for participants in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP. The new rule could result...

  • The Ohio-class ballistic missile submarine USS Tennessee returns to Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay, Georgia in this handout photo

    Navy Awards Largest Shipbuilding Contract Ever

    By Michael Rainey

    The U.S. Navy awarded a contract Monday worth more than $22 billion to build nine new attack submarines. The agreement with General Dynamics Electric Boat includes an option for a 10 th sub, which...

  • Dome of the U.S. Capitol Building

    On Congress’s To-Do List: Prevent a Shutdown in 18 Days

    Congressional appropriators back from their Thanksgiving recess have just three weeks to hammer out details on dozens of policy differences over federal funding for fiscal year 2020, which started on...

  • A homeless woman sits on a bench few blocks away from the White House in downtown Washington

    Chart of the Day: Record Low Poverty Rate

    By Michael Rainey

    The extensive array of government assistance programs — including Social Security, unemployment insurance, veterans’ benefits, nutritional aid, rental assistance and the Earned Income Tax Credit —...

Budget Directory

Tags
Wednesday, May 25, 2011 - 5:49pm
Tuesday, May 24, 2011 - 9:34pm
Wednesday, May 18, 2011 - 10:49am
Monday, May 16, 2011 - 5:27pm
Friday, May 13, 2011 - 10:30pm
Wednesday, May 4, 2011 - 6:55pm
Wednesday, May 4, 2011 - 12:59pm
Monday, April 11, 2011 - 7:12pm
Thursday, April 7, 2011 - 9:30am
Thursday, April 7, 2011 - 4:00am
Tuesday, April 5, 2011 - 9:31pm
Tuesday, April 5, 2011 - 9:30am
Sunday, April 3, 2011 - 7:01pm
Thursday, March 17, 2011 - 8:00pm
Friday, February 18, 2011 - 10:52pm
Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 2:12pm
Tuesday, February 15, 2011 - 6:19pm
Friday, February 11, 2011 - 5:00am
Friday, February 4, 2011 - 10:02pm
Thursday, February 3, 2011 - 11:47pm
Monday, January 31, 2011 - 5:46pm
Wednesday, January 26, 2011 - 9:54pm
Thursday, January 6, 2011 - 11:00pm
Thursday, January 6, 2011 - 11:00am
Friday, December 3, 2010 - 5:00am
Wednesday, November 17, 2010 - 10:25pm
Monday, August 16, 2010 - 4:00am
Wednesday, April 28, 2010 - 2:39pm

Pages