Budget
  • FILE PHOTO: A combine drives over stalks of soft red winter wheat during the harvest on a farm in Dixon, Illinois

    Is Trump's $28 Billion Bailout Paying Farmers Too Much?

    By Michael Rainey

    The Trump administration is spending $28 billion to bail out farmers hurt by the president’s trade war with China – a huge sum that some experts say overestimates the economic losses inflicted by the...

  • New Trump Food Stamp Rule Will Cut 700,000 from Program

    By Michael Rainey

    The White House said Wednesday that it has finalized a rule that will tighten work requirements for participants in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP. The new rule could result...

  • The Ohio-class ballistic missile submarine USS Tennessee returns to Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay, Georgia in this handout photo

    Navy Awards Largest Shipbuilding Contract Ever

    By Michael Rainey

    The U.S. Navy awarded a contract Monday worth more than $22 billion to build nine new attack submarines. The agreement with General Dynamics Electric Boat includes an option for a 10 th sub, which...

  • Dome of the U.S. Capitol Building

    On Congress’s To-Do List: Prevent a Shutdown in 18 Days

    Congressional appropriators back from their Thanksgiving recess have just three weeks to hammer out details on dozens of policy differences over federal funding for fiscal year 2020, which started on...

  • A homeless woman sits on a bench few blocks away from the White House in downtown Washington

    Chart of the Day: Record Low Poverty Rate

    By Michael Rainey

    The extensive array of government assistance programs — including Social Security, unemployment insurance, veterans’ benefits, nutritional aid, rental assistance and the Earned Income Tax Credit —...

  • Sanders, Buttigieg Release Plans for Veterans Affairs

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    Bernie Sanders unveiled on Monday a proposal to expand services provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs. Among numerous policy details in the proposal, Sanders said he would: Fill 50,000...

  • Congress Wants to Push Shutdown Deadline into December

    The House will vote the week of November 18 on a short-term spending bill intended to avert a government shutdown later that week, House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-MD) said in a letter to...

  • Democratic presidential candidate Pete Buttigieg, Mayor of South Bend Ind., speaks to a crowd during a campaign event, Saturday,

    Buttigieg’s $1 Trillion Plan for Free Tuition, Child Care and Housing

    By Michael Rainey

    Democratic presidential contender Pete Buttigieg released on Friday more than $1 trillion worth of proposals that focus on education, housing and child care. The plans include: $700 billion for pre-K...

  • Sen. Van Hollen announces a bipartisan agreement on Turkey sanctions during a news conference in Washington

    Democrats Propose New Tax on Millionaires

    By Michael Rainey

    Two Democratic lawmakers unveiled a plan Thursday that would raise taxes on high-income households. Sen. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland and Rep. Don Beyer of Virginia are proposing a 10-percentage...

  • Chairman of the Senate Budget Committee Enzi waits for order to be restored during markup of the FY2018 Budget reconciliation legislation on Capitol Hill in Washington

    Senate Committee Approves Budget Reforms

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The Senate Budget Committee on Wednesday approved a bipartisan bill that aims to reform the federal government’s budget process. The Bipartisan Congressional Budget Reform Act “would provide a more...

Budget Directory

Tags
Tuesday, August 13, 2013 - 4:05am
Sunday, August 11, 2013 - 4:08am
Thursday, August 8, 2013 - 4:27am
Thursday, August 8, 2013 - 4:24am
Wednesday, August 7, 2013 - 4:04am
Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 5:00pm
Tuesday, July 30, 2013 - 5:26pm
Sunday, July 28, 2013 - 2:44pm
Wednesday, July 24, 2013 - 4:09am
Tuesday, July 23, 2013 - 7:05pm
Monday, July 22, 2013 - 4:00am
Thursday, July 18, 2013 - 4:15am
Wednesday, July 17, 2013 - 4:20am
Sunday, July 14, 2013 - 4:30am
Friday, July 12, 2013 - 6:45pm
Friday, July 12, 2013 - 4:41pm
Wednesday, July 10, 2013 - 4:23am
Sunday, July 7, 2013 - 10:33pm
Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 7:19pm
Wednesday, June 26, 2013 - 11:00am
Friday, June 21, 2013 - 4:32pm
Friday, June 21, 2013 - 4:02am
Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 4:04am
Thursday, June 13, 2013 - 10:27pm
Wednesday, June 12, 2013 - 3:04pm
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 - 8:24pm
Sunday, June 9, 2013 - 5:06am
Saturday, June 1, 2013 - 2:02am
Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 7:40pm
Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 5:21pm
Wednesday, May 29, 2013 - 9:34pm
Wednesday, May 29, 2013 - 4:04am
Thursday, May 23, 2013 - 4:01am

Pages