The Debt
  • Visualizing the ‘Great Decoupling’

    By Michael Rainey

    The Washington Post’s Catherine Rampell asked economist and data visualization specialist Jonathan Schwabish of the Urban Institute to create a chart that shows how unusual the large and growing...

  • FILE PHOTO: Kudlow gives a press briefing at the White House in Washington

    As Deficit Soars, Trump Advisers Focus on Discretionary Spending Cuts

    National Security Adviser John Bolton, speaking Wednesday at an event hosted by the Alexander Hamilton Society in Washington, warned that the national debt is a societal threat with security...

  • Trump speaks upon departure from the White House in Washington

    Trump Says He'll Start Paying Down the Debt. Here’s Why That’s Not Likely

    By Michael Rainey

    In a somewhat surprising statement on fiscal policy, President Trump said Wednesday that the U.S. will start reducing its more than $21 trillion national debt. "We're going to start paying down debt...

  • Who Owns US Debt?

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    At Bloomberg , bond strategist David Ader suggests that, while there are plenty of threats that could drive interest rates higher, the idea that foreigners are pulling back from U.S. debt isn’t one...

  • U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin in Washington, U.S., May 23, 2017. REUTERS/Jim Bourg

    US Treasury to Borrow More Than $1.3 Trillion in 2018

    By Michael Rainey

    The U.S. Treasury said Monday it expects to issue about $425 billion in debt this quarter, raising its 2018 borrowing to more than $1.3 trillion, a 145 percent increase from the $546 billion issued...

The Debt Directory

Tags
Monday, November 19, 2018 - 5:22pm
Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 11:19am
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 5:53pm
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 5:43pm
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 - 4:40pm
Monday, October 29, 2018 - 4:54pm
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - 5:50pm
Tuesday, October 23, 2018 - 5:15pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 5:45pm
Monday, October 15, 2018 - 5:42pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 5:29pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 5:44pm
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 4:40pm
Tuesday, September 18, 2018 - 5:55pm
Monday, September 17, 2018 - 6:15pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 12:15am
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 5:45pm
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 5:35pm
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 4:45pm
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 4:45pm
Tuesday, August 21, 2018 - 11:37am
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 5:23pm
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 4:41pm
Friday, August 3, 2018 - 4:22pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 5:37pm
Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 5:14pm
Tuesday, July 10, 2018 - 5:40pm

Pages